Wednesday, July 25, 2012
Living the married life
We are officially married and back from our honeymoon in Mexico. Believe it or not, the weather was more pleasant (i.e. cooler) in Mexico than Minnesota. I will try to recap our trip, but I'm sure I will forget many things.
After a week packed with trying to move Josh's things into our apartment and attempts at completing our registry (so we weren't tempted to spend the money on other things), we slept for 2hours on Friday night and took off for the airport just before 3am. Soon after arriving, we discovered that the airport doesn't open until 4. While waiting with all the missions trips waiting to go off we started to get a little nervous since our flit left at 5 and we knew we were supposed to check in 2 hours early.
Everything worked out I the end and we made it to Houston for our 3.5 hour layover. We stopped at Chili's (the only sit down restaurant in our terminal) for breakfast that felt like lunch. We witnessed a very odd, public confrontation that appeared to be between some sort of youth trip chaperones. I can't even begin to explain what happened. We made sure to get out of there as soon as possible. While in Houston, we realized that we didn't have our cameras. It turns out that we left them in the car. Bummer.
We finally got to Mexico after a very long day of traveling. We were exhausted, so we hung out by the pool for a little bit and then ended up taking a few hour long nap before going to dinner. We thought we were going to dinner super late at 8:30, but it turns out that is the normal time for dinner at this place.
The next morning, we asked some advice for getting a camera. We ended up going to SuperChe, which is the Mexican equivalent of Walmart. We found a nice Sony camera, but the employee did not speak English. He ran around the store until he found someone who could translate for us... another customer! Once we determined we Actually wanted the camera, he had to complete 2 forms. The camera was then delivered to the front of the store while we went to check out. The cashier had to get approval to use our credit card, we had to fill out a few more forms, then we set to pick up our camera. There was a security guard at the front of the store who had to see all of our completed forms so he could stamp them. When we finally walked out of the store, I felt like that woman from the Ikea commercial... "get in the taxi! Go go go!"
The rest of the week was very relaxing. I will try to get Josh to post about it soon!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment